Reinventing the database wheel.

3 12 2009

This is an inquiry post, my Gentle Readers, that may turn into a rant later.

Are you aware of any webpages acting as author databases and bibliographies, especially genre-specific ones, that DO NOT reference Amazon.com as a buying source?

It’s my contrarian independent bookseller streak showing, I know, and I truly do not wish to offend those of my Gentle Readers who are authors and depend on Amazon.com listings to impress their publishers with book sales.

But I am trying not to have to make my own database, and would love to find one that suggests IndieBound.org as a place to help customers shop locally for their favourites. I wouldn’t even mind if it had IndieBound alongside Amazon, as long as Amazon wasn’t considered the be-all and end-all of book shopping.

Thanks in advance for any assistance you can offer me.

—pmc2

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

